• Other Tests Administered by Allen ISD

    CogAT – Cognitive Abilities Test

    The CogAT assesses the level and pattern of cognitive development of students, measuring both general and specific reasoning abilities. These abilities are assessed in three domains:  verbal, quantitative, and nonverbal. The results of the CogAT are used by teachers to adapt instruction to the needs and abilities of their students and by student support teams as a resource in developing interventions and support. The CogAT is administered to students in Allen ISD in Kindergarten.
    mCLASS - mCLASS Reading Diagnostic Assessment

    mCLASS Reading is a universal screener that measures the development of students' reading skills. mCLASS Reading quickly identifies student needs and offers targeted activities for instruction by using the Dynamic Indicators of Basic Early Literacy Skills (DIBELS) assessment. Allen ISD students in grades K-2 will take mCLASS Reading three times per school year.
    MAP Growth - MAP Growth Adaptive Assessment

    MAP Growth is a computer-adaptive test created by NWEA. This type of assessment challenges top performers without overwhelming students whose skills are below grade level. The results provide teachers with information to help them deliver the appropriate content for each student and determine each student's academic growth over time. Allen ISD students in grades K-8 will take MAP Growth three times per school year. Grades K-2 will take MAP Growth in Math. Grades 3-8 students will take MAP Growth in Math, Science, Reading, and Language.

    PSAT – Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test

    PSAT 8/9 - administered to students in grade 9
    Purpose:  The PSAT 8/9 measures skills in three academic areas:  Reading, Writing/Language, and Math. The PSAT 8/9 is the first test in the SAT suite of assessments and students who take the PSAT 8/9 will have access to a score report. The PSAT 8/9 is not for a grade and does not determine college admissions or course placement.
    PSAT/NMSQT - administered to students in grades 10 & 11
    Purpose:  The PSAT measures skills in mathematics and evidence-based reading and writing. The PSAT is also the best way to prepare for the SAT. Students who take the PSAT receive a detailed score report which provides feedback about areas of mastery and areas that need improvement.
    National Merit:  The PSAT, when taken in 11th grade, is the qualifying exam for the National Merit Scholarship Competition. Students who meet the score cutoff (which varies by state and by year) are eligible to enter this competition, which awards over $33 million in scholarships annually to high-performing students.

    SAT – Scholastic Aptitude Test

    Purpose:  The SAT measures academic skills in mathematics and evidence-based reading and writing. The SAT is required for admission into many colleges and universities. Colleges may set their own SAT requirements and score thresholds for admission.

    ACT – ACT Assessment

    The ACT is a national college admissions examination which covers four skill areas:  English, Mathematics, Reading, and Science. It is designed to assess high school students’ general educational development and their ability to complete college level work.
    For more information: https://www.act.org