• State Testing in Allen ISD

    STAAR – State of Texas Assessment of Academic Readiness
    The STAAR test is the new state-mandated assessment that will replace the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills beginning in spring 2012. STAAR includes grades 3-8 as well as 5 STAAR end-of-course (EOC) assessments for high school students. Click here for more information about STAAR
    Click here to view prior year's STAAR Scores.

    TAKS – Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills
    The TAKS test is a state-mandated assessment used to determine how well students have mastered the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS), which is the state curriculum in reading, math, writing, science and social studies. TAKS is administered to students yearly beginning in 3rd grade. Meeting the passing standard in English/language arts, math, science and social studies is a graduation requirement in the State of Texas. Since 2003, students in grade 3 must pass the TAKS reading in order to be promoted. In 2005, students in grade 5 had to pass both the reading and math portions of TAKS to meet promotion requirements. Beginning in 2008, students in grade 8 must meet the same promotion requirements. Note: Currently the only students responsible for meeting TAKS requirements for high school graduation are students who were freshmen in 2010-11 or before. Students who were freshmen in 2011-12 or after participate in the STAAR program. 

    ISIP - iStation's Indicators of Progress
    ISIP is a state-approved instrument which is used to measure the reading development of young students in kindergarten through third grade. The measurement provides for early identification of reading skills and comprehension development; thereby giving teachers useful information for targeted instructional assistance. The assessment is administered individually in September, January, and May to students in grades 1 and 2, and in October, January, and May to students in kindergarten. 
    TELPAS - Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System
    TELPAS was developed by the Texas Education Agency in response to federal testing requirements of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (NCLB). Under NCLB, Texas must assess English language learners annually in listening, speaking, reading, and writing. Students in grades K-12 participate until their Language Proficiency Assessment Committee (LPAC) determines that they are proficient in the English language. 
    • Grades K-1: TELPAS includes holistically rated listening, speaking, reading, and writing assessments based on ongoing classroom observations and student interactions.
    • Grades 2-12: TELPAS includes online multiple-choice reading tests, online listening and speaking assessments, and collections.