Return to Headlines

AHS Students Selected for Congressman’s Advisory Council

Three Allen High School students are among the 44 selected by U.S. Rep. Van Taylor to participate in his 2021-2022 Congressional Youth Advisory Council (CYAC) program.

Esther Abiog, Dhanish Parimalakumar and Luke Yeary will learn about the federal government, discuss public policy and local Collin County issues, and interact with their federal representative and congressional staff while serving their community.

“Here in Collin County we pride ourselves on having some of the best and brightest high schoolers in the nation,” Taylor said. “I’m proud to announce this year’s Congressional Youth Advisory Council as these world changers are eager to learn more about the functions of our government and the importance of civic engagement.”

The students were accepted into Taylor's 2021- 2022 CYAC class following evaluation by an independent selection board comprised of educators and community leaders who assessed an applicant's leadership skills, academic performance, extra-curricular participation, and community service.