Return to Headlines

11 AHS students named National Merit Finalists

11 Students Named National Merit Finalists

A group photo of the 11 National Merit Finalists from Allen High School.

A total of 11 Allen High School students have been named National Merit Finalists and will be eligible to compete for more the $31 million in scholarships offered later this spring.

The recognition is based on scores on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

The finalists are:

  • Emily Mei
  • Joye Chen
  • Sylvie Tran
  • Sunny Li
  • Sophie Zhang
  • Kyle Bendiksen
  • Neha Prathivadi
  • Brock Dilley
  • Taylor Crockett
  • Richard Noeske
  • Alex Huang

The students were among 16,000 students recognized as semifinalists in the national competition in September. About 90 percent of the semifinalists reached finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will be selected as Merit Scholarship winners, earning the Merit Scholar title.

All finalists must have a record of high academic performance; be endorsed and recommended by their school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm their earlier PSAT performance.