Return to Headlines

33 AHS Students Named National Merit Finalists

33 AHS Students Named National Merit Finalists

A group photo of the 33 Allen High School students who were named National Merit Finalists.

Thirty-three Allen High School students have been named National Merit Finalists and will be eligible to compete for more the $31 million in scholarships offered in the spring.

The recognition is based on scores on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

The finalists are:

  • Andrea Afonso
  • Jenny Ahn
  • Riya Anand
  • Austin Chemelli
  • Sarah Chen
  • Allen Dong
  • Wenting Du
  • Rachel Hong
  • Daniel Honrales
  • Harry Kang
  • Caroline Kemp
  • Angela Liu
  • Siddhi Malvankar
  • Priya Mandava
  • Abhi Patel
  • Nidhi Pawate
  • Anita Prabhu
  • Avani Putcha
  • Wasif Reaz
  • Alice Shao
  • Leia Sing
  • Kaylee Smith
  • Pranay Srivastava
  • Sophia Stanzo
  • Lauren Tompkins
  • Karis Tsao
  • Teya Weckerly
  • Peyton Wright
  • Shiyu Xu
  • Arsen Yang
  • Yi Jun Yang
  • Angela Yeung
  • Ruth Zachariah


The students were among around 16,000 students recognized as semifinalists in the national competition in September. About 90 percent of the semifinalists reached finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will be selected as Merit Scholarship winners, earning the Merit Scholar title.


All finalists must: have a record of high academic performance; be endorsed and recommended by their school principal; and earn SAT scores that confirm their earlier PSAT performance.