Return to Headlines

AHS Animation Students Capture State Awards

Allen High School Animation Students walked away with a score of trophies at the annual UIL state competition in Austin – including a Grand Champion honor.

In the Digital Animation division, AHS students took three of the top honors:

Grand Champion – “Copyrat”

Team: McKenna Sanchez (director), Meghna Dasari, Kelsey Brooks, Madison Adkison, Caroline Allbright, Maya Jimenez

Second place – “Crutch”

Team: Ben Luke and Rachel Mills (co-directors), Angelly Patino, Victoria Viola-Prioli, Sidra Rosevear, Noah Hawes

Third place – “Down in the Dumps”

Team: Ethan Marr (director), Priscilla Diaz, Maude Boutin, Jordan Harris, Kyle Tener

More than 80 animations were entered in the category.

In Traditional Animation, AHS students placed with two entries:

Second Place – “Applying Yourself”

Team:  Gordon Summitt and Eddie Kovarnik (co-directors), Raphael Mull-Pernetz, Brianna Capps, Rachel Woon

Fourth Place – “Following Suit”

Team:  Brooke Aftomis (director), Nate Buckner, Gideon Adkinson, Evan O’Daniel, Ethan Price

Forty-nine animations competed in the category.

Congratulations to these winners!