Return to Headlines

29 Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

A photo collage of the 2021 National Merit Semifinalists

Allen High School is proud to announce that 29 students have been named semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Competition. 

The 2020-21 Allen High School National Merit Semifinalists are: Jehan Ahmed, Suraj Chaturvedi, Ethan Chen, Ashleigh Cheng, Rupali Chowdhry, Lily Fee, Dominick Goedderz, Lane Haden, Elliot Han, Raaida Hasnain, Deshna Karra, Chase Lee, Regina Lin, Simon Lin, Nicholas Merritt, Sudy Qin, Zicheng Qu, Ishita Shah, Siya Sharma, Tara Srinivasan, Avalene Tan, Anika Trehan, Huy Truong, Claire Tsui, Lucas Vaughan, Jonathon Werst, Jonathan Xu, Rayyan Zamir, and Angela Zhang.

More than 1.5 million juniors took the 2019 PSAT, which is the test that qualified students for the 2021 scholarship competition. About 16,000 students, or around 1 percent, are recognized as semifinalists -- the highest-scoring entrants.

The semifinalists will submit a detailed application illustrating their academic record, activity participation, leadership abilities, and honors and awards received. Those selected as National Merit finalists will be eligible for National Merit Scholarships, corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarships, and college-sponsored Merit Scholarships. The finalists will be announced in February.