Return to Headlines

Allen ISD announces district awards, including Teachers of the Year

Allen ISD announces district awards, including Teachers of the Year

The 2018 Teachers of the Year: Tasha Mills of Lowery Center and Renee Nelson of Preston Elementary

Dr. Niven and the campus principal surprised the Allen ISD Teachers of the Year in their classroom.

Allen ISD has announced the winners of several district awards, including the Campus Teachers of the Year, Paraprofessionals of the Year, Bright Idea Awards and the Rookies of the Year. The district also chose two Teachers of the Year – one elementary and one secondary – to represent Allen ISD in the Texas Teacher of the Year competition.

The Allen ISD Teachers of the Year are Tasha Mills, biology teacher at Lowery Freshman Center, and Renee Nelson, sixth-grade teacher at Preston Elementary. Mills’ teaching career spans 17 years, including the last nine years in Allen ISD. Nelson is in her fifth year of teaching, spending two years in Dallas ISD, two years at Cheatham Elementary in Allen, and now in her first year at Preston Elementary.

The Campus Teachers of the Year are selected by their administrators and peers for excellence in education and commitment to their students. The 2018 Campus Teachers of the Year are:

  • Justine Lambert - Anderson - 4th Grade   
  • Roya Azimi - Bolin - 4th Grade   
  • Jennifer Etheridge - Boon - 3rd Grade
  • Tracy Henderson - Boyd - Art
  • Jennifer Spriggs - Chandler - 6th Grade
  • Carin Engelbert - Cheatham - SSI
  • Mary Anne Davis – Evans - 1st Grade
  • Christine Love - Green - 2nd Grade
  • Karen Donovan - Kerr - 3rd Grade
  • Susan Bissmeyer - Lindsey - 5th Grade
  • Kristin Elliott - Marion - 6th Grade
  • Shawna Wheeler - Norton - 5th Grade
  • Tracy Turner – Olson - 3rd Grade
  • Renee Nelson – Preston - 6th Grade
  • Ffion Zarcaro – Reed - 4th Grade   
  • Katie Massey – Rountree - 1st Grade
  • Kimberly Richardson – Story - Library
  • Susan Beazley – Vaughan - Library
  • Catherine Stolarski – Curtis - Math
  • Joanna DeVoto – Ereckson - Music
  • Bob Campbell - Ford - History/Coach
  • Janet Black – Dillard - Math
  • Tasha Mills – Lowery - Biology
  • Mike Brown – AHS - Pre-Calculus Pre-AP

Allen ISD also named two teachers as the 2018 Rookies of the Year. This award honors employees that make an outstanding contribution to students and the district during their first year of teaching. The winners are Sherri Perkin of Olson Elementary and Brittany Cooper of Ereckson Middle School.

Allen ISD presents the Paraprofessionals of the Year Award to non-teaching staff who benefit the students and the district. The 2018 winners are Suzanne Endres of Anderson Elementary and Denise Reifsteck at Kerr Elementary.

The Bright Idea Award honors district employees who find new and innovative ways to help educators better serve their students and the district. This year, Allen ISD awarded three Bright Idea Awards to the following individuals:

  • Jamie Qureshi, Preston Elementary, Texas Living History Museum – Students created a Texas History Living Museum by researching historical Texas figures and preparing speeches from that person’s point of view.
  • Chris Koder, Ford Middle School, Mustang Hour – Mustang Hour gives students an opportunity to have a choice in their day about which lunch they will attend and what activity, club or tutoring session they will participate in during the timeframe.
  • Nancy Garrison and Michelle Gilbert, Norton Elementary, School Peer Helper Program – Students in 4th-6thgrade are chosen to help certain students with special needs and/or kindergarten/1st-grade students throughout the day. The peer helpers learn about the importance of empathy, support and encouragement.

All of these award-winners, including Allen ISD retirees and winners of the Bell Ringer Awards, will be honored by Dr. Scott Niven at the annual Superintendent’s Recognition Breakfast on May 18.