Return to Headlines

12 Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

Allen High School announced that 12 students have been named semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Competition.


Approximately 1.6 million juniors took the 2017 PSAT, which is the test that qualified students for the 2019 scholarship competition. Approximately 16,000 students, or about 1 percent, are recognized as semifinalists, or the highest-scoring entrants.


The semifinalists will submit a detailed application illustrating their academic record, activity participation, leadership abilities and honors and awards received. Those selected as National Merit finalists will be eligible for National Merit Scholarships, corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarships and college-sponsored Merit Scholarships. Finalists will be announced in February.


The 2018-19 Allen High School National Merit Semifinalists are:


  • Kyle Bendiksen
  • Joye Chen
  • Taylor Crockett
  • Brock Dilley
  • Alex Huang
  • Sunny Li
  • Emily Mei
  • Richard Noeske
  • Neha Prathivadi
  • Sylvie Tran
  • Ellery Wiseman
  • Sophie Zhang