Return to Headlines

National Merit Finalists

Twenty-eight Allen High School students have been named National Merit Finalists and will be eligible to compete for more the $30 million in scholarships offered in the spring.


The recognition is based on scores on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.


The finalists are:


Jehan Ahmed

Suraj Chaturvedi

Ethan Chen

Ashleigh Cheng

Rupali Chowdhry

Lily Fee

Dominick Goedderz

Elliot Han

Raaida Hasnain

Deshna Karra

Chase Lee

Regina Lin

Simon Lin

Nicholas Merritt

Sudy Qin

Zicheng Qu

Ishita Shah

Siya Sharma

Tara Srinivasan

Avalene Tan

Anika Trehan

Huy Truong

Claire Tsui

Lucas Vaughan

Jonathon Werst

Jonathan Xu

Rayyan Zamir

Angela Zhang


The students were among around 16,000 students recognized as semifinalists in the national competition in September. About 90 percent of the semifinalists reached finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will be selected as Merit Scholarship winners, earning the Merit Scholar title.


All finalists must: have a record of high academic performance; be endorsed and recommended by their school principal; and earn SAT scores that confirm their earlier PSAT performance.