September 24, 2018 Board Meeting Summary

Board Honors Outstanding Students & Educators

National Merit Semifinalists

The Board of Trustees recognized 12 Allen High School students for being named semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Competition. More than 1.6 million students nationwide took the 2017 PSAT to qualify for the competition, and only the top one percent (approximately 16,000) students earned the distinction of semifinalist.

The 2018-19 Allen High School National Merit Semifinalists are: 

  • Kyle Bendiksen
  • Joye Chen
  • Taylor Crockett
  • Brock Dilley
  • Alex Huang
  • Sunny Li
  • Emily Mei
  • Richard Noeske
  • Neha Prathivadi
  • Sylvie Tran
  • Ellery Wiseman
  • Sophie Zhang

TASB Business Recognition

The Board of Trustees honored Linebarger, Attorneys at Law for its outstanding support of students and schools in Allen.

Linebarger, Attorneys at Law has been a sponsor of the Foundation For Allen Schools since 2015, and assists with Foundation activities and fundraisers. In addition, Linebarger has established a student scholarship which is awarded to an Allen High School senior who intends to pursue a career in the legal or criminal justice field. Linebarger is also one of the sponsors of Allen ISD’s end-of-year awards and helps with the welcome and recognition of new teachers each year.

Middle School Principal of the Year

The Board of Trustees recognized Ford Middle School Principal Matt Russell for being named the 2017-18 Middle School Principal of the Year by Region 10. Russell was presented the award at the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals (TASSP) Summer Workshop on June 11 in Austin. TASSP presents the award annually to a middle school principal from each of the 20 regions in Texas. A TASSP committee will interview Russell and the other finalists to determine the overall Texas winner.

Employees of the Month

In an effort to recognize more members of the Allen ISD Family for their outstanding dedication and commitment for our students, the Human Resources Department has launched a new Employee of the Month Award. Each month, the district will recognize one elementary teacher, one secondary teacher, and two district employees (anyone other than a classroom teacher). The monthly recognitions are sponsored by The Foundation For Allen Schools and Credit Union of Texas.

The Board of Trustees was proud to recognize the following honorees:

  • Jesse Fagan, Special Education Paraprofessional – Preston Elementary
  • Michelle Leasure, Assistant Director of Transportation – Allen ISD
  • Karen Hunnicut, AP Psychology and IB Theory of Knowledge teacher – Allen High School
  • Carin Engelbert, SSI teacher, Cheatham Elementary

District Provides Update on STAAR and EOC

Assistant Superintendent for Learner Services Jennifer Wilhelm presented the STAAR and End-of-Course assessment and accountability results to the Board of Trustees.

Based upon their scores, students are placed into the following performance levels: Did Not Meet Grade Level, Approaches Grade Level, Meets Grade Level, and Masters Grade Level. The percentage of Allen students who reached the Approaches, Meets and Masters levels exceeded the percentage of students in the state who reached those levels in every grade and subject.

In addition, the district is now assigned letter grades (A-F), and campuses are assigned ratings of “Met Standard” or “Improvement Required.” Allen ISD earned an overall grade of “A”, and every campus earned the “Met Standard” ranking. All secondary campuses and 14 of 18 elementary campuses received one or more distinction designations. Allen ISD campuses earned 73 total distinction designations, an increase from 65 in 2017 and 59 in 2016.

Next Board Meeting

The next regular meeting of the Allen ISD Board of Trustees is scheduled for Monday, October 22, 2018, at 7 p.m. at Allen City Hall.